ADVERTISEMENT

Bobby Petrino to call plays from sideline in 2024

DanielFair

Football Recruiting Analyst
Staff
Dec 6, 2019
USATSI_5547996 (1).jpg

Arkansas offensive coordinator Bobby Petrino confirmed Tuesday that he will call plays from the sideline rather than up in the coaches booth.

One of the newest changes in college football is the use of in-helmet communication between coaches on the sidelines and players on the field, Petrino said he is adjusting to it ahead of the 2024 season.

Petrino said Tuesday that even though he has experience with the communication system from his stints with the Jacksonville Jaguars (1999-2001) and Atlanta Falcons (2007) in the NFL, there’s still some growing pains using it in 2024.

“I think I’m still learning about it right now, because the first couple weeks it really wasn’t a lot of fun,” Petrino said. “It was a headache doing all that. Shut this off, let’s shut that off, and we’re not the only ones that are having to deal with those type of problems because you have to be hooked up to two different things, one for the quarterback, one for the staff. So, there’s some work to be done.”

The new communications system allows for one player on the offense — presumably the quarterback — and one on the defense to hear from the coaches until there are 15 seconds left in the play clock.

Technology isn’t perfect, though. Things break down and go out all the time, so the Arkansas coaches still need to be prepared for what to do if something fails.

“We need to be ready for, probably not if it goes out in a game, but when it goes out,” Petrino said. “We need to be ready for it and be able to handle it when it happens.”

The Arkansas coaches have used in-helmet communication throughout fall camp and during the two scrimmages they held inside Razorback Stadium. The difference between using it on the practice field and in the stadium is that the headset shuts off automatically in the stadium.